Notice Board

16th National Winter Para Games

2019-03-11 16:18
The sixteenth edition of the National Winter Para Games was held from 12 February to 15 February in Gangwon and Gyeonggi Province, Korea. The Closing Ceremony was held on 15 February in Alpensia Convention Center, PyeongChang, Korea. A total of 885 athletes and officials participated in seven different sports, including Para alpine skiing, Para snowboard, Para biathlon and cross country skiing, Para ice hockey, Wheelchair Curling and Short track. Please visit our official webpage(http://16thwinter.koreanpc.kr/) for further information, only provided in Korean language.

Opening Ceremony
KPC President LEE Myung ho and Vice Minister of Culture, Sport and Tourism ROH Tae kang, attended the opening ceremony of National Winter Para Games 2019, which was held at the PyeongChang Alpensia Resort, Korea on 12 February. Mr Lee emphasize that "I hope everyone to enjoy excitement and festivities of the Games as I did," and also ended with a remark saying "as National Winter Para Games is held every two year, I expect athletes to leave the venue with no regret behind."
Additionally, Mr. Roh delivered congratulatory speech and said he "genuinely believes that Para sports is basis of sports for all" and thus, he "promises you[the athletes] to provide better environment for para athletes at all levels, from grassroots to elite level."

KPC House
Anyone who came to PyeongChang 2018 and Indonesia 2018 may have visited Korea House. Last year, we also operated KPC House during the 38th National Para Games and are now continuing the project for the National Winter Para Games to promote para sports nation wide. Anyone visiting KPC House can experience Floor curling and Boccia and VR station for Para alpine skiing was also provided on site. Visitors can also purchase souvenirs including PyeongChang 2018 calender and key chain.

Wheelchair Curling on Air
Final match of Wheelchair Curling was aired on TV at 2pm on 15 February. As Gyeonggi Province triumphed over Seoul City Hall, the current national team, the team now holds the title of national champion.